VEGAN RECIPE: Pan fried Aubergine & Coleslaw Sour dough Sandwich

As a kid growing up, I was very familiar with the mediterranean diet. One thing I learned is that sometimes the most simple dishes are the ones that are unreal delicious! 

If you’ve ever visited Spain you may have been lucky enough to try Berenjenas con Miel (Aubergines with honey). The slight bitter taste from the crisp slices of aubergines with the sweetness of they honey is the ultimate combo.

Since choosing to incorporate a plant based diet into my lifestyle, honey is out of the question, BUT don’t let that stop you, these aubergines would go incredibly well with some good maple syrup or agave nectar.

I decided to experiment and came up with this epic sandwich!
The aubergines paired with my homemade vegan coleslaw (let me know if you’d be interested in me sharing the recipe) makes for a very flavoursome lunch.

I hope you give it a go and try it out!

Pan fried Aubergine & Coleslaw Sour dough Sandwich

Pan fried aubergines are so simple to make and can be served in a sandwich or just on their own with a drizzle of agave nectar, or maple syrup.

For two servings.
1 medium sized aubergine
2 tbsp plain flour (or flour of your choice)
2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper to taste

For the sandwich
4 slices of sourdough bread
Shredded Romaine Lettuce
Slices of Tomato
Vegan butter
Vegan coleslaw

Method:

1. Start by slicing the aubergine in to 1cm thick discs and rinse them under cold running water, this will help to make the aubergines extra crispy when we go to cook them.

2. Once thoroughly rinsed, dry them with kitchen paper making sure to absorb as much water as possible. I like to space them out on a tray and press the kitchen paper onto them. The drier you get them the better results you’ll have.

3. Once dried, spread the flour on to a large plate. Take each slice and coat them with the flour, make sure to rub the flour evenly to make sure they are well covered.

4. Heat the oil in a large frying pan on a medium to high heat. (Once the oil is sizzling you can reduce the heat slightly to prevent the slices from burning.) Dust off any excess flour from the slices and fry the aubergines turning them occasionally until they are golden and crisp.
Once cooked, season to taste and place them on some kitchen paper or a wire cooling rack (I’ve found they star crisper if they are left on a metal rack).

5. Now you’re ready to plate up your sandwich. You can make it to your liking, however I like to use my homemade vegan coleslaw as I make it with raw apple. I think the sweetness of the apple compliments the aubergines really well.

To Serve:

Serve by buttering two slices of sourdough bread, lay the lettuce, some raw tomato slices, a generous helping of homemade coleslaw, then top with the aubergine slices.

Couldn’t be easier!

If you like this recipe, please be sure to share it and I hope you can try it out!

Image & recipe © Juan Pinal 2016.

Leave a comment